The Chess Box [BOX SET]

Etta James
etta james, the chess box [box set] [original recording remastered] track listing: one for my baby (and one more for the road), waiting for charlie (to come home), don't get around much anymore, next door to the blues, i don't want it (previously unreleased), something's got a hold on me, stop the wedding, these foolish things (remind me of you), you got me where you want me (previously unreleased), i want to be loved (but only by you), prisoner of love, pushover, be honest with me (previously unreleased on album), slow and easy (previously unreleased), soul of a man (previously unreleased), miss pitiful, finders keepers, losers weepers, i found a love, w.o.m.a.n., never my love (previously unreleased), i never meant to love him, you lost that lovin' feelin' (previously unreleased), sail away
Audio CD (June 27, 2000)
Original Release Date: June 27, 2000
Number of Discs: 3
Track Listings

Disc: 1
1. All I Could Do Is Cry
2. My Dearest Darling
3. If I Can't Have You (duet with Harvey Fuqua)
4. I Just Want To Make Love To You
5. Anything To Say You're Mine
6. In My Diary
7. Spoonful (duet with Harvey Fuqua)
8. A Sunday Kind Of Love
9. At Last
10. Stormy Weather
11. Trust In Me
12. Don't Cry Baby
13. Fool That I Am
14. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)
15. Waiting For Charlie (To Come Home)
16. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
17. Next Door To The Blues
18. I Don't Want It (Previously Unreleased)
19. Something's Got A Hold On Me
20. Stop The Wedding
21. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)
22. You Got Me Where You Want Me (Previously Unreleased)
23. I Want To Be Loved (But Only By You)
24. Prisoner Of Love
25. Pushover
26. Be Honest With Me (Previously Unreleased on Album)

Disc: 2
1. Would It Make Any Difference To You
2. Look Who's Blue (Previously Unreleased on Album)
3. Pay Back
4. Two Sides (To Every Show)
5. At Last (Live - Previously Unreleased)
6. Baby What You Want Me To Do (Live)
7. Lovin' You More Every Day
8. I Wish Someone Would Care
9. Bobby Is His Name
10. Only Time Will Tell
11. (I Don't Need Nobody To Tell Me) How To Treat My Man
12. In The Basement, Part 1 (Duet with Sugar Pie DeSanto)
13. Lover Man
14. Do I Make Myself Clear (Duet with Sugar Pie DeSanto)
15. I Prefer You
16. It Must Be Your Love
17. 842-3089 (Call My Name)
18. I'd Rather Go Blind
19. Tell Mama
20. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
21. Security
22. I Worship The Ground You Walk On (Previously Unreleased on Album)
23. You Took It (Previously Unreleased)
24. Almost Persuaded
25. You Got It
26. Light My Fire (Previously Unreleased)

Disc: 3
1. Slow And Easy (Previously Unreleased)
2. Soul Of A Man (Previously Unreleased)
3. Miss Pitiful
4. Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers
5. I Found A Love
6. W.O.M.A.N.
7. Never My Love (Previously Unreleased)
8. I Never Meant To Love Him
9. You Lost That Lovin' Feelin' (Previously Unreleased)
10. Sail Away
11. Down So Low
12. All The Way Down
13. God's Song (That's Why I Love Mankind)
14. Feelin' Uneasy
15. St. Louis Blues
16. Let's Burn Down The Cornfield
17. Gonna Have Some Fun Tonight
18. Sookie Sookie
19. Out On The Street Again
20. Lovin' Arms

Editorial Reviews
You can't have too much Etta James. Really. This long-overdue collection of the singer's Chess recordings includes much of her best work. Three CDs' worth. 72 tracks. Shivers abound just thinking about it. Of course, all the songs you'd expect are here: "I Just Want to Make Love to You," "Spoonful," "Something's Got a Hold on Me," "Tell Mama," and, naturally, "At Last," among many, many others. But you don't need me to convince you why Etta James is worth hearing; what you want to know is, is this box set worth the price? Well, it's got almost everything you'd find on At Last, James's first studio album and widely considered her best, and it includes the same material as Her Best, which up to now was hands-down the best introduction to the glory that is Etta James. But say you've already got that stuff, why would you want this? Well, first of all, the packaging is stellar. A 40-page booklet comes in a handsomely presented box, which contains a wealth of pictures, quotes, and perspectives that do much to illuminate what made James's 16-year period at Chess Records so special. There are definitely a few musical chestnuts here; several previously unreleased tracks, as well as a few that were released as singles only. Notable inclusions are a previously unreleased version of "You Lost That Lovin' Feelin'" and a live version of "At Last." Whether or not it's possible to distill the work of a singer like Etta James down to three CDs, this is a very strong collection and an admirable effort to get the best of Etta all in one place. --Genevieve Williams

Click here for more information or to place an order online


| Click here for 20th Century Masters: The Best Of Etta James (Millennium Collection) [ORIGINAL RECORDING REMASTERED] |
| Click here for Etta James Hawkins Biography |
| Click here for other Artists & Categories |
| Click here for the Main Index |

Musicians Store Links

| Strings | Harmonicas | Metronomes | Tuners | Effects | Microphones | Cables | Drumsticks | Cymbals |

Concert Tickets and Tour Schedules

Click here for Ticket and Tour enquiries

Music Links

| Music Home Page | Chart Toppers | New and Future Releases | Recommendation Center | Alternative | Blues | Children's | Christian & Gospel | Classical: Instrumental | Country | Dance & DJ | Folk | International | Jazz | New Age | Opera & Vocal | Pop | Rap & Hip-Hop | R&B / Soul | Rock | Soundtracks | Miscellaneous |

Sheetmusic Links by Instrument

| Piano | Guitar Tabs | Hammered dulcimer | Fiddle | Mandolin | Violin | Drum | B Flat Cornet | B Flat Trumpet | B Flat Tenor Saxophone | Saxophone | Flute | Clarinet | Alto Sax | French Horn | Trombone | Bagpipes | Harmonica | Recorder | Harpsichord | Zither | Sitar | Psaltery | Koto |

Sheetmusic Links by Genre / Style

| Alternative | Blues | Broadway | Christian | Christmas | Country | Folk | Funk | Hip Hop | Jazz| Latin | Love | Wedding | Metal | Movies/TV | Pop | Progressive | Punk | Reggae | Rock |

Affordable Digital Music / MP3 Software

| AudioCatalyst 2.1 | Sound Blaster Live! MP3+ | Musicmatch Jukebox Deluxe | DJ2000 MP3 Manager & Player | MP3 Center |

Music Software / Hardware

| MP3 Portable Player/Recorder | AudioCatalyst V2.1 for Win95/98/NT | I JAM MP3 Portable Player With FM Tuner - Black Portable MP3 Player | Sound Blaster Live! MP3+ Create/Organize Audio/MP3 Files PCI | 32mb Smartmedia Card for Digital Camera & MP3 Player | CD Architect | Soundcards Index | Speakers Index | MP3 Center |

Video Links

| Video Home Page | Top Sellers | New & Future Releases | DVDs | Awards & Recommendations | Action & Adventure | Art House & International | Classics | Comedy | Documentary | Drama | Horror & Suspense | Kids & Family | Music & Musicals | Science Fiction & Fantasy | Special Interests |

Literature/Books Links

| Books Home Page | Bestsellers | Featured in the Media | Award Winners | The Computer Top 50 | Art, Architecture & Photography | Audiobooks | Biographies & Memoirs | Business & Investing | Children's Books | Christian Books | Computers & Internet | Cooking, Food & Wine | Entertainment | Health, Mind & Body | History | Home & Garden | Horror | Literature & Fiction | Mystery & Thrillers | Nonfiction | Parenting & Families | Professional & Technical | Reference | Religion & Spirituality | Romance | Science & Nature | Science Fiction & Fantasy | Sports & Outdoors | Teens | Travel |

Music by email

Join our mailing list for FREE MP3's and lyrics & what's up in music..............
Enter your email address below, then click the 'Join List' button:
Powered by ListBot

Search .....

Sheetmusic / Guitar Tabs / Songbooks
Audio CD / Video / DVD
In Association with